The 2019 Power Fifty members

Leading investor 2019

Leading investor nominees 2019
The HealthInvestor Power Fifty Leading Investor title is awarded to the individual – whether at a private equity firm, family office, REIT or institutional fund – that has spearheaded the most innovative deals or portfolio company exits in 2019.

  • Phil Bayliss, CEO of later living, L&G Capital
  • Ruben Bhagobati, partner, AMP Capital
  • Andrew Cowley, managing partner, Impact REIT
  • Benjamin Davis, chief executive, Octopus Healthcare
  • Mark Hall, senior partner, Graphite Capital
  • Iain Macleod, managing partner, Icon Infrastructure Fund
  • Kenneth MacKenzie, founder and chief executive, Target Fund Managers
  • Andrew Ovey, head of healthcare, AXA Investment Managers – Real Assets
  • David Porter, Founding partner, Apposite Capital
  • Justin Skiver, senior vice president – international, Welltower

Deal maker 2019

Deal maker nominees 2019

Well executed deals require a quality transactional lead, and the HealthInvestor Power Fifty deal maker accolade goes to the leading corporate financier or property consultant that investors and operators wanted managing their deal in 2019.

  • Issy Corbett, head of healthcare M&A, PwC
  • Julian Evans, head of healthcare, Knight Frank
  • Hedley Goldberg, global head of healthcare services, Rothschild & Co
  • David Jones, partner – health and life sciences m&a, Deloitte
  • Matthew Lee, head of uk healthcare and managing director, Lincoln International
  • Richard Lunn, managing director – care, Christie & Co
  • Tom Morgan, executive director, healthcare, CBRE
  • Andrew Nicholson, global head of healthcare corporate finance, KPMG
  • Justin Crowther, partner, Alantra
  • Tony Drabble, partner, EY

Capital provider 2019

Capital provider nominees 2019

M&A and company expansion just isn’t possible without injections of capital from lenders. This award celebrates the healthcare lead at a bank or alternative capital providers that has been the most supportive to operators and investors in 2019.

  • Derek Breingan, head of health and social care, Clydesdale Bank (CYBG)
  • Dasos Kirtsides, head of healthcare, Shawbrook Bank
  • Jeremy Huband, head of healthcare, HSBC
  • Marguerite Mulvey, head of healthcare, AIB
  • David McHattie, head of public sector and healthcare, Barclays

Outstanding leader 2019

Outstanding leader nominees 2019

Health and social care providers operate in undeniably tough trading conditions and growing companies in this environment requires a resilient, visionary and pragmatic leader. The HealthInvestor Power Fifty Outstanding Leader prize is given in recognition of the chief executive who encapsulates these qualities and more, and has steered their company most successfully through the year.

  • Justin Ash, chief executive, Spire
  • Jane Ashcroft, chief executive, Anchor Hanover
  • Pete Calveley, chief executive, Barchester Healthcare
  • Andrew Cannon, chief executive, Voyage Care
  • Joy Chamberlain, chief executive, Elysium Healthcare
  • Justin Hutchens, chief executive, HC One
  • Steve Gray, chief executive, Nuffield Health
  • Avnish Goyal, managing director, Hallmark Care Homes
  • Paul Jeffery, chief executive, Caring Homes Group
  • Mike Parish, chief executive, Care UK
  • Mala Agarwal, chief executive, Athena Care Homes
  • Nick Sanderson, chief executive, Audley Retirement
  • John Strowbridge, chief executive, Avery Healthcare
  • Daya Thayan, chief executive, Kingsley Healthcare
  • John Reay, president, HCA Healthcare UK

Sector specialist 2019

Sector specialist

Necessary to every deal or company expansion plan, because of their deep sector knowledge, are the due diligence advisors. The HealthInvestor Power Fifty Sector Specialist award is presented to the advisor who has shown themselves most indispensable on transactions or as a source of strategic advice in 2019.

  • Clare Connell, managing director, Connell Consulting
  • Bhavna Keane Rao, managing director, BKR Care Consultancy
  • Amanda Nurse, managing director, Carterwood
  • Leonid Shapiro, managing partner, Candesic
  • Tony Stein, chief executive, Healthcare Management Solutions

Non-executive director 2019

Non-executive director

The HealthInvestor Power Fifty NED prize is given to an individual who has shown themselves to be a dynamic, must-have non-executive director or chairman of a health and social care company by being the perfect foil to the executive teams and an invaluable font of knowledge.

  • Stephen Collier
  • Robert Kilgour
  • Mike Parsons
  • Sandie Foxall-Smith
  • Ted Smith

27 November 2019

The Landmark London, 222 Marylebone Rd, Marylebone, London NW1 6JQ​

Networking reception sponsor:
Event partners:

The Power Fifty 2019 categories:

  • Leading investor
  • Deal maker
  • Capital provider
  • Outstanding leader
  • Sector specialist
  • Non-executive director

About HealthInvestor UK

HealthInvestor UK is the leading magazine and website for investors, operators, lenders and advisors focused on the UK health and social care sector. Our team of experienced journalists provide readers with the latest market news and analysis through our website and monthly magazine.

Contact the team

Sponsorship opportunities:
Michael Dee | +44(0)207 104 2006